New Orleans Jazz Fest

May 4, 2009 at 8:53 am | Posted in Perspective | Comments Off on New Orleans Jazz Fest
Tags: , ,

Just back from a great trip to the New Orleans Jazz Fest and I’m raring to get back to work. Well, how about willing to get back to work?

This 40th anniversary version of the Jazz Fest was one of the best for me. All of the music and food was first class. I got to see George Wein, 83-year-old Jazz Fest founder, play with his Newport All Stars. This was special for me because he also produced the Newport Jazz Festival, which I first went to when I discovered jazz at the age of 13!

Other performers enjoyed last week were the one and only Tony Bennett (still going strong!), Bonnie Raitt, Kermit Ruffins, John Boutte, James Rivers, and so many other lesser known talents. My favorite venues at the Fest are the Blues Tent, Jazz Tent, and Economy Hall (Dixieland) for a wide variety of superb music, plus the larger Acura and Gentilly Stages for the big name stars.

Now, for the food, I have to say I am still partial to boudain balls, crawfish strudel, crawfish sacks, and white chocolate bread pudding. These are just some of the top choices on my list, but there are food booths everywhere at the Fairgrounds, the horse track converted once a year into a festival site, for every taste bud!

Music and food. What a concept. Now, I’m back at work, only two pounds heavier than when I left the keyboard last week. 🙂

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

