Off to New York!

May 26, 2009 at 6:33 am | Posted in Book Publishing | Comments Off on Off to New York!
Tags: , ,

Today I travel to NYC to attend the start of IBPA’s Publishing University and I am excited about this opportunity to learn more about several topics that will help my publishing house prosper.

As soon as I arrive I’ll listen to Dominique Raccah and Rudy Shur, two highly experienced and successful publishers, give their views about the future of independent publishing. Their publishing houses, Sourcebooks and Square One Publishers, respectively, are the perfect examples of what independent publishers can achieve.

I give two talks on marketing on Wednesday and Thursday, followed Thursday night by IBPA’s fabulous Benjamin Franklin Dinner and Awards, which recognizes the best in indpendent book publishing. In between, I will be attending courses, helping with the IBPA membership outreach, and enjoying the company of many friends, both long time and newly-met.

I’m staying on for all three days of BookExpo America, the largest book publishing event in the country. I have plans to meet with specific distributors, audio and e-book manufacturers, marketing pros, and others in the constant search for that next connection to take Ocean Publishing one step higher toward professional and financial success.

I will also conduct interviews with experts in all phases of book publishing. Each person will be asked questions about their specific jobs and these interviews will be recorded for my upcoming radio show “Cover to Cover” on wnzf.com.

Got to go for now. New York is calling!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

