Day Two of Pub U

May 27, 2009 at 4:38 pm | Posted in Book Publishing | Comments Off on Day Two of Pub U
Tags: , , ,

Well, so much for reporting about Day 1 of Publishing University!  I got in late and missed Rudy Shur’s keynote talk and heard only part of Dominique Raccah’s. From what I heard and have been told, they both delivered outstanding presentations about the future of independent publishing. I’ll write about the details after I’ve listened to the recorded program.

Following their program, I attended a very nice reception for all of the attendees and got to connect with old friends and meet new foks. This was followed by a very fun dinner for the IBPA Affiliate Scholarship Recipeients at a French country restaurant on 2nd Avenue. What enjoyment it was to talk with people who had been recommended by their IBPA Affiliate Associations and selected by IBPA to receive a free tuition to Publishing University and a $500 stipend to help offset expenses.

Today started at 6:30 with preparation of the registration booth and membership table. I then helped out at both until 9:30 when I took a break to get on the internet to do some business for Ocean Publishing and to handle e-mail.  Then, back to the mezzanine for more help with registrations and such, followed by a fine luncheon/IBPA business meeting where Roland Lange, of Google Book Search, talked about that program and what he foresees for independent publishing. I’ll report more on this after I’ve digested my notes.

I was on a panel at 2:00, talking about “Marketing from the Inside Out,” along with Sue Sylvia and Carlene Sipola, the new IBPA president. I spoke on the importance of marketing and business focus, and how authors must have a platform on which to promote their books. This session was followed by Q&A, and then I broke to get back on the Net to write this blog.

Next will be a reception sponsored by Lightning Source, followed by casual dining with some long time friends. Then, its crash in bed so I can do it all over again tomorrow!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

